Exceptional Care Home Workers Recognised At Annual Awards Ceremonies

StoryFor the eighth consecutive year, the Orders of St John Care Trust (OSJCT) – one of the UK’s largest not-for-profit care home providers – celebrated its stand-out care workers throughout the UK during a series of special awards ceremonies.

Over 300 employees were awarded as part of the four ceremonies, which took place in Lincolnshire, Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire. Categories awarded within each county included Carer of the Year, Young Carer of the Year, Leader of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Hospitality Award, Unsung Hero, Activities Coordinator of the Year and Office / Support Employee of the Year.

In addition, 14 care homes from across OSJCT received Care and Quality Accreditation Awards in a range of categories, including Outstanding Medicines Management Practice; Infection Prevention & Control; Dementia Awareness; and Dementia Care.

Over 150 members of staff also received certificates for completing qualifications in Dementia Care; Health & Social Care; Professional Cookery; Housekeeping; Business & Administration; Hospitality Supervision; Leadership; Chartered Surveyor; Supporting Activity Provision In Social Care; Cleaning & Support Services; Awareness Of Dementia; Moving & Handling; Team Leading; Food Production & Cooking; and Kitchen Services.

Long Service Awards for up to 35 years employment with the Trust were also presented to 10 employees.

For a full list of recipients, please see below.

Kevin Hall, OSJCT Operations Director, said: “Our team members play a critical role in the Trust providing our residents with the highest quality person-centred care, and, because of this, our annual ceremonies are very special events for us. Not only do they bring together our care teams from the counties in which we operate, but they also give us the opportunity to show our gratitude to all of the hard-working men and women who make a tremendous difference in our residents’ lives.

“All of the employees honoured at this year’s events have shown the utmost commitment and dedication to the Trust and everyone living under our care. Whether celebrating long service, individual training achievements and group accreditations to garnering praise from colleagues, all of 2016’s recipients are extremely deserving of the recognition and a big thank you.”

2016 Award Recipients

Carer of the Year:

Katie Orchard from Willowcroft in Salisbury

Maureen Townsend from Monkscroft Care Centre in Cheltenham

Gail Morley from Beckside in North Hykeham

Martina Kurmeta from Longlands in Oxford 

Young Carer of the Year:

Shanna Haddrell from Hayward Care Centre in Devizes

Emma-Leigh Brain from Westbury Court in Westbury on Severn

Chelsea Schofield from Boultham Park House in Lincoln

Kerri Crawford from Madley Park House in Witney 

Unsung Hero:

Pauline Lavis from Hayward Care Centre in Devizes

Pete Hudson from Millbrook Lodge in Brockworth

Sue Ely from Eresby Hall in Spilsby

Jane Hayhoe from Oxlip House in Bury St Edmunds and Kumba Krubally from Langford View in Bicester

Leader of the Year:

Julia Gibson from Avonbourne Care Centre in Old Sarum, Salisbury

Claudette Campbell from Millbrook Lodge in Brockworth

Jean Bamber from Skirbeck Court in Boston and Donella Savage from Eresby Hall in Spilsby

Emma Watts from Langford View in Bicester

Hospitality Award:

Sally Reynolds from Watersmead in Westbury

Rachel Curran from Bohanam House in Barnwood

Sue Horspool from Patchett Lodge in Holbeach

Prissana Ramsey from the Meadows in Didcot

Volunteer of the Year:

Sonia Gittins from Hungerford House in Corsham and Julie Kolasinski fromThe Cedars in Purton

Michael Bosworth from Paternoster House in Cirencester

Helen McLoughlin from Ermine House in Lincoln

Fiona Davis from Old Station House in Abingdon

Activity Coordinator of the Year:

Samantha Dean from Fives Court in Mere

Anne-Marie Damsell from Southfield in Stroud

Caressa Canner from Ermine House in Lincoln

Angela Lindsay from Longlands in Oxford

Office/Support Employee of the Year:

Graeme Murdoch from Marden Court in Calne

Jackie Norman from Gloucestershire County Office in Barnwood

Lisa Phipps from Boultham Park House in Lincoln

Cristina Tanasescu from Longlands in Oxford

Staff Long Service Awards: 

35 Years of Service:

Jennifer Rymell from Athelstan House in Malmesbury

30 Years of Service:

Joyce Duerden from Fosse House in Lincoln

Michael Raisen from Hartsholme House in Lincoln

Patsy Just of OSJCT’s Operations Centrein Witney

25 Years of Service:

Evelyn Underwood from The Elms in Stonehouse

Amarjeet Kaur of Marston Court in Oxford

Anna Hicks of Operations Centre in Witney

Penny Ward of Glebe House in Kidlington

Nicola Patterson of Chilterns End in Henley-on-Thames

Emma Cottle of Langford View in Bicester









Sign up for all the latest news from The Carer!

Sign up to receive the latest issues, along with highlights of the latest sector news and more from The Carer, delivered directly to your inbox twice a week!