CareCare HomesNews

Simply the Best – Care Home Scoops Coveted National Title

Reigate Beaumont Care Home in Reigate has beaten all the competition to be crowned National Garden of the Year in the Barchester Care Awards 2022.

Reigate Beaumont’s win was announced at a special national award ceremony which took place on October 12 to celebrate the outstanding achievements of Barchester’s many exemplary staff members who work tirelessly to deliver the best care to their residents and patients every day.

Residents and staff are overjoyed that their garden, which is central to life at the home, has been announced as the National Garden of the Year – awarded to the most impressive Barchester outside spaces. Judging was based on their use of colour, variety, safety and accessibility, maintenance and engagement. Judges were impressed by the standard of the home’s garden and picked it out as the top garden of this category in the whole of Barchester.

General Manager, Pramojil Kurian said:
“This is an amazing achievement and the whole home is so proud to be given this award. Our gardens are a core part of our everyday life here at Reigate Beaumont. Whether it is our walking club, our gardening club or the residents that enjoy tending to the flowers and watering of the garden. Even sitting and looking out onto the gardens, we often spot families of deer, pheasants and foxes with their cubs roaming freely, it really is an enchanting space and to be given this award is rewarding for all of us”.

Dr Pete Calveley, CEO of Barchester Healthcare, added:
“Hosting the Barchester Care Awards where we recognise and thank all of our staff for their hard work and dedication is without doubt my favourite day of the year. We have the best teams in the world and I couldn’t be prouder of each and every one of our members of staff, they are all absolutely amazing.”

The Barchester Care Awards celebrate the staff who go the extra mile for the benefit of the 12,600 residents living in Barchester’s 250 care homes and private hospitals across the country. Categories range from ‘Team of the Year’ and ‘Carer of the Year’ to ‘Dementia Care Champion’ and ‘Activities Coordinator of the Year’.


COTS 2024