National Association For Safety And Health In Care Services (NASHICS) Announces Winners Of The Safety In Care Awards 2014

Safety-In-Care-Awards-2014This year’s Safety in Care Awards celebrated best practice in safety and health within care services.

Winners collected their awards in the prestigious setting of Oxford’s Kassam Stadium as part of a celebratory lunch at the NASHiCS annual Learning & Development Forum.

“These awards were particularly special because they’re given in the same year that NASHiCS celebrates its tenth anniversary,” said NASHiCS National Chair Chris Jackson.

“Our mission – to promote and improve safety and health in care practice – can only be achieved by individuals like our winners supporting the cause.”

Four awards were made this year:

Best Practice Award 2014

Sponsored by SMS Environmental.

This year it was awarded to Rosemary Rogers, HME Ltd.
The award was for an individual who in the last two years has introduced change to Health & Safety practice having been tried and tested, with demonstrable results for the care provider

Learning & Training Award 2014

Sponsored by Citation Professional Solutions.

This year it was awarded to Lynda Goldsmith, Caremark.

The award was for an individual, team or organisation that has, over the last two years introduced an innovative, creative and well embedded learning and training initiative that has allowed the sharing of Health & Safety knowledge with care staff bringing measurable benefits.

Company or Individual or the year 2014

Sponsored by Rose Hygiene.

This year it was awarded to Darren Allsobrook, Derby City Council.

The award was for the person or company who has made a significant contribution to the improvement and promotion for best practice for safety and health in the care sector.

10 Year Individual Award 2014.

Sponsored by The National Skills Academy.

This year it was awarded to Richard Walder, Administrator NASHiCS.

This award was to recognise 10 years of the Association and presented to an individual, who in the opinion of the judges, has championed leadership of health and safety in care and has been a fully involved member of the Association, involved with its growth and development over many years.

A photograph of the award winners and sponsors can be found attached.

Nominations for the Safety in Care Awards can be made by any organisation or individual, whether a NASHiCS member or not. For more information about the organisation, please visit