CareCare HomesCare StaffNewsSocial Care

Surrey Care Group Increases Number Of Homes Committed To Excellence In End-Of-Life Care

A luxury Surrey care group has put two more of its homes through a programme aiming to enhance end-of-life care provided by care residences and organisations – empowering its staff to understand the compassionate philosophy of palliative care.

CHD Living’s Abbey Chase, a Chertsey nursing centre offering nursing and residential care, and Kingston Rehabilitation Centre, providing specialist care for complex neurological conditions, are the organisation’s two latest services to complete the ‘Six Steps of Success’ programme working alongside Princess Alice Hospice.

The Six Steps programme aims to facilitate organisational change and support, educating care staff and ensuring that every care facility is equipped with dedicated champions who have access to up-to-date national and local information around palliative care.

Both centres engaged in rigorous training, received visits from trainers to implement new processes, and participated in workshops to enhance their end-of-life care practices. The teams also compiled a comprehensive portfolio showcasing the evidence of their successful integration of the Six Steps training into their daily caregiving routines.

The initiative emphasises the importance of open discussions about end-of-life care and aims to ensure that hospices are equipped with the tools, knowledge, and resources to deliver respectful, patient-centred, and well-led care. It highlights the significance of caring throughout the end-of-life journey, offering a compassionate and effective approach to supporting individuals in the final stages of their life.

The Six Steps programme encompasses six key components:

  1. Discussion as end-of-life care approaches
  2. Assessment, care planning, and review
  3. Coordination of care
  4. Delivery of high-quality care in care homes
  5. Care in the last days of life
  6. Care after death

Becs Page, CHD Living’s Quality Assurance Manager, said: “Having another home become accredited in the Six Steps programme is a further milestone for our organisation and a reflection of our commitment to providing the highest standards of end-of-life care. It reinforces our dedication to ensuring that every individual, their families, and our incredible staff receive the utmost support, respect, and compassion during this sensitive journey. The Six Steps programme encompasses our core values and achieving this accreditation demonstrates our commitment to consistently elevate the quality of care we provide.”





COTS 2024